6 thighs 🍗 x 2 drumsticks 🥁

Pulsating postpunk, dreampop and noize from london

The Dead Zoo live at Oslo Hackney, November 2021. Photography by Rupert Hitchcox Photography

"🐅 Claws bared, The Dead Zoo stalk the stage with their obsidian post-punk anthems, fierce garage-rock and uncaged gothic guitar interplay "
– Josh Cooper (Roadkill Festival / One Little Independent Records)

Guitarist and singer Kaoru Sato, formerly of Weird Sex (Roadkill Records), Electric Shocks (Artrocker Recordings) and notorious transgender punks Six Inch Killaz formed the group in summer 2019 with Somrata Sarkar (Ghost Patterns) on keyboards and vocals, Jon Baker-Bates on drums and Gabby Cain on bass.

The quartet played their debut show at The Shacklewell Arms in November 2019, followed by three 2020 gigs in quick succession before COVID brought a halt to proceedings. Undeterred, they released debut single, “Mother” in summer 2020.

The group returned to stages in London in 2021 to promote epic 80's synthwave tinged maxi single “In the End”, playing a run of shows culminating in the sell out Rock Against Violence fundraiser at Oslo Hackney, headlined by ARXX, and are proud to have helped raise over £15,000 for Solace Women's Aid, to aid survivors of domestic and sexual violence.

With an evolving, raw, pulsating multilayered sound influenced by Talking Heads (and Tom Tom Club),  Siouxsie and the Banshees and Sonic Youth, The Dead Zoo now serve a free wheeling blend of pop melody, electronic beat driven movement and guitar fuelled sonic assault and have been described variously as:

"About to become your new favourite London post-punx
– Loud Women

"Destined for great things"
– Bill Adamson (With Just a Hint of Mayhem)

“(They) continue to blend pop sensibilities into their heavy post punk/shoegaze offerings” 
- Kate Crudgington (Get in Her Ears)

The Dead Zoo released new single "Do Clean / Do Dirrrty", a guitar fuelled garage punk anthem about the joys of making a clean break for freedom on August 10th 2022. This will be followed by an EP recorded with producer James Aparicio (Grinderman / Spiritualized / Depeche Mode / Throw Down Bones).

FFO: Phoebe Bridgers, Beebadoobee, Mitski, Black Doldrums, CLT DRP, Projector, CIEL, LibraLibra, Ditz